Mateo Jarquín and Sonia Tycko Awarded the 2020 Gross Prize

May 26, 2020
History Department logo

The 2020 Harold K. Gross Dissertation Prize has been awarded to Mateo Jarquín and Sonia Tycko for their dissertations. The Gross Prize is “awarded each year at Graduation to the Ph.D. recipient whose dissertation, in the opinion of a committee of Department [of History] members, gave greatest promise of a distinguished career of historical research.” 

Mateo Jarquín, "A Latin American Revolution: The Sandinistas, the Cold War, and Political Change in the Region, 1977–1990"

Picture of Mateo Jarquín

Sonia Tycko, "Captured Consent: Bound Service and Freedom of Contract in Early Modern England and English America"

Picture of Sonia Tycko